Edit the world …

… let them know what grammar is. (With apologies to Bob Geldof/Midge Ure.)

So, in my quest to eradicate incomprehensible writing everywhere, I’ve signed up as a volunteer editor on Kibin. People submit all manner of files that need a quick read and using a somewhat coarse interface, editors mark up the text and submit it back with some comments to the author. It’s not a money maker … though I suppose there is some potential to eventually underwrite a grande latte at Starbucks, but that’s certainly not why I do it.

I’ve edited what was probably a 12-year-old’s project on the events leading up to Bastille day, a cover letter to a prospective employer, and a marketing pitch for a videographer … all horrendously written (well, the cover letter wasn’t too bad) and I gotta say, it’s a great feeling to absolutely know without a shred of doubt that someone somewhere will encounter a written document that isn’t a complete assault on their sensibilities. Because an editor stepped in and wrestled that hot mess into coherency. And that editor was me. And it could be you. Give it a try if you’re so inclined. It’s a spare time, just for fun kind of thing to do while you help make the written world a better place! : )

2 Comments to “Edit the world …”

  1. What are the skills that I need to run a website business, I want to display some useful info on my site to earn money. I am not talking about designing part, I know how to launch a website but don’t know how to get advertisements from companies, marketing, managing, updating, customer service and there are many more things that we need to run a website business or any other business in which we are selling our services. Do I need to do any kind of course. Do I need to hire staff for it. Please help thanks..

Leave a Reply

